Surveys, Forums, Abuse!

January 18, 2009

So, as I am currently doing my thesis on Online Gaming and Gender-bending, I have needed to recruite participants. 

 

What better way to do this then head to forums where these people flock, to discuss general gaming issues, specific issues, and all kinds of topics are spoken about. So off to the forums I went – a whole bunch of different ones relating to Second Life, World of Warcraft, online gaming etc etc – I was armed with my little brief to declare that I was credible, and a link to my survey. 

 

I contacted people before I posted, I made sure I gave a few weeks notice, most never replied to me, unfortunately. Not to be knocked down, I made a little post on each forum, stating my purpose, myself, and a small request to take out ten minutes to fill in my survey. 

 

Well, little did I realise that forums are often asked if they like Pepsi quite repeatedly, and most responded to me quite unhappily, and often flaming me.  I should have come prepared with body armour. 

 

angry_baby_head

 

I find it very unfortunate, I am researching to add information to the gaming community, a lot of people still view online gaming as a past-time that is done by 12 year old boys, sitting in dark bedrooms, hunched over PCs. I want to spread the word that this is not the case, that many different men AND women of ALL ages play, and to give reasoning behind some of the behaviours that have occured as a result of online gaming. 

 

My research request has been frequently thrown back in my face, I will continue, I will carry-on and I won’t be discouraged. 

 

240 responses seemed so much smaller and more achievable 3 months ago….